Certificate in Digital Applications (CIDA)

The UK is a world leader in the creative digital industries, such as in the creation of visual effects for films and computer games.  However, there is growing recognition that we need to build on and improve the UK’s capability and capacity for technical innovation and creativity in this area.

The Pearson Edexcel Level 2 Certificate in Digital Applications (CIDA) has been designed to engage and enthuse young people with an interest in creative computing, for example digital graphics and web design.

Units for the Award

Unit 1: Developing Web Products (Practical Examination.)  This unit aims to give you the knowledge and skills you need to produce attention grabbing web products using web authoring software, multimedia assets and navigation features.

Unit 3: Artwork and Imaging (30 hour controlled assessment.)  You will demonstrate your ability to create effective images and graphic products (using Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator) through your work on a major project set by Pearson.  This will include exhibiting your work and supporting evidence in an e-portfolio.

Assessment Method

This course is assessed through a combination of a practical examination and a controlled assessment.

The weightings of each unit are:

(Unit 1: Developing Web Products – 25%, Unit 3: Artwork and Imaging 75%)

What can I do with this Qualification?

This qualification provides a broad and solid foundation for further study of various aspects of creative computing, such as graphic design, web design, computer games design and interactive media.

It supports progress to further study, including:

● GCE in Media: Communication and Production

● Level 3 BTECs in Creative Media Production

● Level 3 BTECs in IT

● Level 3 Principal Learning in Creative and Media.

It also enhances young people’s overall digital literacy and gives them a solid foundation for further study and employment.

For further information see

Mr M Dunn mdunn@sharnbrook.beds.sch.uk