Year 9, 10 & 11 Curriculum

Most students undertake 10 GCSE subjects (or 8 plus a BTEC) including English literature, which is incorporated within the English course.  They also take the ECDL in IT which is equivalent to a further GCSE. 

Core subjects

These are subjects taken by ALL students and they consist of:

  • English* and English literature*
  • Mathematics*
  • Combined Science (or separate science if selected as an option subject)
  • Religious education* (including citizenship, personal & social development)
  • IT**
  • Physical education

* These are full examination courses leading to GSCEs.
** Students will work towards the European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL) in their IT lessons (equivalent to 1 GCSE).

To read more about our core subjects please click here.

Optional subjects

In addition, students can select up to 4 optional subjects, such as:

  • Humanities
  • Modern languages
  • Expressive arts
  • GCSEs in applied vocational subjects
  • Design technology
  • BTECs (level 2) in vocational subjects

To read more about our optional subjects please click here.

For more information please email